Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Not Sure About Medical School

MrJamminMrJammin Posts: 6Registered User New Member
edited January 2008 in Pre-Med Topics
I'm a third year student in Electrical and Computer Engineering and Physics. As it is, I would like to pursue a doctoral degree in solid state physics, on route to becoming a professor.

My father demands that I go to Medical School instead. I have started to consider the thought, as becoming a tenured professor seems to be a very hard thing to do.

I want an opinion as to how I will fair with the type of education Medical School offers. I figure I must have a typical engineering mind, that likes to tinker, figure things out, be creative and inventive, etc. Does this translate well into medicine? Is Medical School really barrels and barrels of memorization?

Also I had a question about being squeamish. I can tolerate looking at lots of blood and gore; however, I am also the type of person who feels like puking when I see someone puke. Does this sort of feeling fade away after going through Medical School?
Post edited by MrJammin on

Replies to: Not Sure About Medical School

• shades_childrenshades_children Posts: 2,206Registered User Senior Member
    My father demands that I go to Medical School instead.

I'm always amused at those kinds of parents. In my experience, the parents are in love with the idea of their child being a doctor and have little idea of how time-consuming, expensive, and competitive it is to get into medical school.