College Confidential
» CC HOME » FORUM HOME

  College Confidential > College Admissions and Search > Financial Aid & Scholarships > Questbridge Programs
New User

Welcome to College Confidential!
The leading college-bound community on the web
Join for FREE now, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one)!
Discussion Menu
»Discussion Home
»Help & Rules
»Latest Posts
»NEW! CampusVibe™
»Stats Profiles
Top Forums
»College Chances
»College Search
»College Admissions
»Financial Aid
»SAT/ACT
»Parents
»Colleges
»Ivy League
Main CC Site
»College Confidential
»College Search
»College Admissions
»Paying for College
Sponsors
SuperMatch - The Future of College Search!
CampusVibe - Almost As Good As A Campus Visit!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2012, 11:18 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
QuestBridge prying too much?

Hi, I'm currently a high school junior and I was interested in applying for the QuestBridge scholarship and summer programs. However, after going through some of the application process, I came upon a section that requires me to release my parents' legal status to QuestBridge, and I was wondering how risky it would be. I'm a U.S. Citizen; my parents, however, are not. If I tell QB that my parents are not citizens, will they release my information to, say, the government or the INS?

Thank you!
lawlcatz is offline   Reply   
Old 03-11-2012, 06:48 PM   #2
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Questbridge is a very good organization. They will not, to the best of my knowledge, report your parents. There have been finalists, who are the children of illegal immigrants, and their parents have not been deported. QB exists to help people, I wouldn't hesitate to apply if I were you; however, if you are still concerned, email them. The staff is very helpful. Also, please join the application facebook group, https://www.facebook.com/groups/315073331887097/. There are lots of people who really want to help you.
applied2012 is offline   Reply   
Old 03-11-2012, 07:02 PM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 9
And if you're concerned about your privacy (which it seems like you are), you should make a random Yahoo / Gmail / etc. email address to email them with, so that you don't use the same email for the question and your application.
windowlicker is offline   Reply   
Old 03-11-2012, 07:54 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 114
I was gonna suggest the same as windowlicker and definitely join the group
if you really want confirmation on this, e-mail them! They're really nice people, and you can phrase your question in a vague/hypothetical way.
Atelophobia is offline   Reply   
Old 03-11-2012, 08:26 PM   #5
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Yer QB is decent, they definitely won't do that or deport your parents or anything :S. otherwise i'm sure there would have been a lot of deported QB applicants by now.
jcooray is offline   Reply   
Old 03-12-2012, 11:21 PM   #6
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
I emailed QB and this was their response:

"QuestBridge, Mar 12 02:49 pm (PDT):
Dear [name],

We do not release any information to the government or the INS. Everything that is submitted in the QuestBridge application is kept secure and confidential.

Kind regards,
The QuestBridge Team"

Thanks guys!
lawlcatz is offline   Reply   
Old 03-13-2012, 06:49 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 114
Good luck with your application! Let us know if you need any more help
Atelophobia is offline   Reply   



Copyright 2001-2011, Hobsons, Inc., All Rights Reserved