Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

i'm a good student, so why are my SAT scores so bad?

new_york_cityxnew_york_cityx Posts: 92Registered User Junior Member
i am a B+/A- student in honors and AP classes at a challenging public high school, yet my SAT score is only an 1100 (560 v, 540 m). the average SAT score at my school is around a 1350. i have had private tutoring in effort to raise my score, but it did not help. what am i doing wrong? i try so hard. i don't understand why i can't improve my score. anyone else in the same boat?

maybe it's because i'm a bad test taker? but that can't be it because i got a 700 on the writing SAT II...
Post edited by new_york_cityx on

Replies to: i'm a good student, so why are my SAT scores so bad?

• jpps1jpps1 Posts: 1,993. Senior Member
    You could be a ****ty test-taker. Probably.

The other possibility (and don't get offended) is that you're one of those people who isn't all that bright and just works their ass off.
  • ryan2288ryan2288 Posts: 2,501Registered User Senior Member
    Maybe the questions are just tricky for you. Do you do better on the practice tests? Maybe you tighten up when you take it.
  • neeleshneelesh Posts: 1,285Registered User Senior Member
    i went from a 1050 PSAT (math +verbal only) to a 1370 SAT my third time taking it. I got a 1240,1260 first 2 times, and lemme tell you, i was ****ed!

i think that private tutors aren't really any help, the best help is self help. :-)