Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

How much do ACT/SAT scores generally increase per year?

TheMichiganianTheMichiganian Posts: 12Registered User New Member
I'm currently a Freshman in high school, and I took the ACT last spring and the a PR practice SAT a few months ago (I took the real SAT in 7th grade but it's probably pretty outdated now). I got a 28 on the ACT and a 1770 on the SAT, and I was wondering around what would be my scores when I take them in my Junior year. I am aiming to get into an Ivy League school, so I need to know how much I should study. Thank you!
Post edited by TheMichiganian on

Replies to: How much do ACT/SAT scores generally increase per year?

• sauternety36sauternety36 Posts: 274Registered User Junior Member
    I wouldn't have taken the SAT so early - it's not about being smart or anything, just your brain comprehension level. I would actually advise you to improve a lot in the next two years and take it with lots of confidence in your junior or senior year.

In fact, if you want to know my stats, they pretty much tell the story. When I was in sophomore, I got 2180. A the end of my junior year, I got 2390. So I guess age does improve your scores.
  • SheepGetKilledSheepGetKilled Posts: 1,103Registered User Member
    1770 is a good starting point freshman year. I got a 168 (PSAT) sophomore year and ended up steadily increasing until I got a 2250 Senior Year. Here are my scores:

Soph: 168
    Junior: 198
    Mid Junior: 2080
    Late Junior: 2230
    Early Senior: 2230
    Mid Senior: (just took, think I got 2270+)
  • erlangererlanger Posts: 453Registered User Member
    Sheep, mid to late jr year for you was a huge leap. What do you attribute it to?