Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Advice on my SAT Essay! Please

Guille19Guille19 Posts: 357Registered User Member
Good evening CC.

I think this will be the last time I'll be bothering you since I have the SAT this saturday, hehe.

I would really appreciate any advice on what to do.

I decided I would use 2 examples since I think I could try to develop them better, and because I'm a slow writer.

And one last question: Do you think this essay can get me a score of 6/12 or a little more?
Thanks.

-Essay Prompt:

"Many people believe that “closed doors make us creative.” These people argue that obstacles and restrictions are necessary, for without them we would never be forced to come up with new solutions. But “closed doors,” either in the form of specific obstacles or a lack of opportunities, often prevent people from reaching their full creative potential."

-Do closed doors make us creative? Plan and write an essay in which you develop your point of view on this issue. Support your position with reasoning and examples taken from your reading, studies, experience, or observations.

"Creativity is the ability that humans develop to find a way to deal with quotidian situations, specially the ones involving obstacles.
Therefore, "closed doors" do make us more creative since we keep bombarding the problem until we find a way to circumvent it. This can be seen in examples from history.

In the first place, creativity is always nascent in the field of science and experimentation.
Here, scientists find close doors everyday, since they do not find an answer immediately.