Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Freshman SAT Score

swoo0525swoo0525 Posts: 16Registered User New Member
Hello and I hope everyone had a Happy Christmas,

I took the SAT for the first time, without studying, on collegeboard.org and I got a 1730. I understand that that is okay, but where could I get it up to by Sophomore of Junior year if I started studying? Please also consider the fact that I am a freshman.

Math-540 (sigh*)
Critical Reading-590
Writing-600

Thanks in advance
Post edited by swoo0525 on

Replies to: Freshman SAT Score

• rspencerspence Posts: 2,118Registered User Senior Member
    Depends...if you haven't taken algebra or geometry, you have a lot to learn and you can increase your math score by quite a bit. Can't really predict your sophomore or junior year scores, but I'd say 1900-2100 with a reasonable amount of studying. Of course it could be higher or lower.
  • swoo0525swoo0525 Posts: 16Registered User New Member
    Assuming I study my a$$ off, what are the chances of 2300+ by Junior or Sophomore year?
  • musiclover31musiclover31 Posts: 56Registered User Junior Member
    As a freshmen, you still don't know most of the math skills that will be on the SAT. I say wait till your junior year and take it in November then June (if needed). Your reading skills will also develop over the years. Good luck!
  • rspencerspence Posts: 2,118Registered User Senior Member
    I mean, you might have already learned algebra II and geometry, I don't know. However a 540 is fairly weak so I doubt it. You have two years to build up your math skills (as well as reading, writing).
  • callz109callz109 Posts: 45Registered User Junior Member