Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Does it look bad that I only took SAT once?

computersaavycomputersaavy Posts: 114Registered User Junior Member
I took the SAT in the fall of my Junior year after intensive preparation over the summer with an excellent tutor. I was happy with my score of 2160 (math - 700, reading - 720, writing - 740) because I thought it was a good reflection of my ability and my level of preparation. I was also happy that each score was above 700. I'm not sure that I could score any higher, although it would be nice to join the "above 2250" club.

I'm a straight A student with a demanding course load (4 AP course in my Junior year; 3 planned for next year as a Senior) and my SAT II scores are reasonably good - US History 780; Spanish 710; Math 1 - 740. I have strong ECs with excellent community service and activities demonstrating leadership skills (just elected President of Student Council). I think thay my teacher recs will be strong as well.

Here's my question: I'm interested in attending schools like University of Pennsylvania, Georgetown, and Columbia. Does it look bad to admission officers that I only took the SAT once and didn't try to raise my score?
Post edited by computersaavy on

Replies to: Does it look bad that I only took SAT once?

• shoreshore Posts: 571Registered User Member
    It looks very good you only did it once. But if you want to increase your chances of UPenn or Columbia, a higher score might be required for your SATs but I'm not sure...

But if thats the best you can do, then don't worry, doing the SAT only once is rather a bonus in my eyes. So good luck!
  • Venkat89Venkat89 Posts: 7,327Registered User Senior Member