Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Stanford accommodation for non-Stanford student

radicalityradicality Posts: 1Registered User New Member
edited February 2012 in Stanford University
Hi,

I'm currently a computer science student, but not in Stanford. In April, I'll be coming over to Palo Alto for 6 months to work as a software developer in a tech startup, but then I'm going back to university to finish my degree.

I was wondering if maybe it's possible to somehow live in Stanford halls of residence, even if I'm not a student at Stanford. It's just that I'm still a student, and have never lived in the US, and thought that if I get to live in Stanford halls, I would make friends more easily, meet more people, and have a fun time. I guess I could take some Stanford classes, but not too much since I'll be having a full-time job, maybe some evening classes ? Would that qualify me for halls ? You think it's a good idea ?

If not, any other ideas where I could live in, in Palo Alto, for 6 months ? Should I just rent an apartment maybe, off craigslist ?
Post edited by radicality on

Replies to: Stanford accommodation for non-Stanford student

• siliconvalleymomsiliconvalleymom Posts: 3,670Registered User Senior Member
    Stanford housing is for Stanford students.
    You will probably have a fun time hanging out with the other people you are working with.
    You will find plenty of off-campus options near Stanford. On Sand Hill Road, many people find the Oak Creek furnished apartments a good option.
  • 2boysima2boysima Posts: 1,792Registered User Senior Member