Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

To transfer or not to transfer? That is the question...

penguin25penguin25 Posts: 24Registered User New Member
edited November 2012 in Transfer Students
Hey CC,

I have a slight dilemma and would appreciate any opinions you might have, whether positive or negative. I am a current sophomore at a top LAC and applied to transfer to a medium-sized public university for the spring. Let's assume that they're on the same level academically/in reputation because they are-I don't want to name the two schools because I would like to remain anonymous. However, I would like to discuss this decision and see if the decision is valid, or if I should suck it up and stay where I'm at. Both are excellent, excellent schools academically, and I am grateful that I am fortunate enough to decide between the two. I need to be admitted to the university first, but I do want to have a decision made before the letter comes in case it is an acceptance.

Bullet Points (In case you don't want to read the novel):
LAC:
*Social problems-no real close friends, only friendly acquaintances
*Feeling sad and alone often
*Only 1 professor specializing in what I want for my career
*Small size not great for introverted personality
But...
*School with a great academic reputation
*Major advisor giving me GREAT opportunities-summer internship
*Leadership in 2 organizations
*I will be able to study abroad

Medium sized school:
*Fresh start socially
*Bigger size allows me to escape/remain anonymous when necessary
*Better, more intensive program for my extracurricular/fine art interests
*More volunteer opportunities
*Real football game
*Same great reputation academically