College Discussion

Go Back   College Discussion > College Admissions and Search > Transfer Students
New User


 
Welcome to College Discussion at College Confidential, the Web's leading discussion forum for college admissions, financial aid, SAT prep, and much more! You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, etc. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
   College Confidential is dedicated to providing the best free college admissions information available on the Web, through our many articles and this discussion forum.

This welcome message goes away when you register and log in!

Discussion Menu
Discussion Home
Help & Rules
Latest Posts
NEW! College Visits
NEW! Stats Profiles
Top Forums
College Search
College Admissions
Financial Aid
SAT/ACT
Parents
Colleges
Ivy League
Main CC Site
College Confidential
College Search
College Admissions
Paying for College
Sponsors
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-10-2005, 11:27 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 41
"scam honors" national deans list, who's who, etc...

What do you all think about those letters saying you one this honor, join the society for 75$, or you could buy the book with your listing for 60$ etc...

I'm talking about the National Dean's List, Who's who among HS students, etc. I thought the NDL one was actually impressive and hard to get... until 3 more letters came to my apartment addressed to people who i guess had lived there before me. real exclusive...

I feel stupid now b/c i but the national dean's list one on my application. is this really just a scam honor or is it something to be proud of? Are admissions people going to be put off by it?

What do you guys know about these and other honors/societies? Which ones are legit honors/awards?
lovelight15 is offline   Reply   
Old 04-11-2005, 01:31 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: the 20 square miles that refuse to be bothered by reality- AKA Ann Arbor
Posts: 540
scams

I have bumper stickers from golden key, NCHS, and like 10 more. They see you on the deans list and the send you "acceptances." They just want your $$$$.
Maize&Blue22 is offline   Reply   
Old 04-11-2005, 06:33 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,001
Golden Key is real...
bluealien01 is offline   Reply   
Old 04-11-2005, 09:41 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 31
When you guys say Golden Key are you all talking about Phi Theta Kappa? If so, PTK isn't a scam. Yeah, it cost money to join but on some transfer applications they will ask if you are a member of Phi Theta Kappa. I know Cornell University asked.
otpyg is offline   Reply   
Old 04-11-2005, 09:57 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: the 20 square miles that refuse to be bothered by reality- AKA Ann Arbor
Posts: 540
http://www.ptk.org/ <---Phi Theta Kappa

www.goldenkey.org <---scam
Maize&Blue22 is offline   Reply   
Old 04-11-2005, 10:31 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 31
maize&blue22, thanks for answering my question. i was confused because ptk uses the term "golden key."
otpyg is offline   Reply   
Old 04-11-2005, 12:08 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia, UVa :)
Posts: 552
Yeah i got those letters too....i was like wow...some1 likes me...then i jumped to the end and they ask for your money.....ummmm...no
nahrafsfa is offline   Reply   
Old 04-11-2005, 03:32 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NEW YORK/VIRGINIA
Posts: 84
i was wondering the same thing about the National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS)...but after some research, it looks pretty legite to me. Especially the fact that induction of new members is on campus next fall...
VA_Mike is offline   Reply   
Old 04-11-2005, 03:44 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 475
I don't think that the NSCS is legit. It seems pretty much money driven and the standards for entrance are so low 3.4/4.0 that many, many people are invited.
wahoo2007 is offline   Reply   
Old 04-11-2005, 05:27 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NEW YORK/VIRGINIA
Posts: 84
even if Maya Angelou and the CEO of Phizer are on the board of Honorary Regents? That's what sold me...
VA_Mike is offline   Reply   
Old 04-11-2005, 05:52 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 403
umm generally speaking, a 3.4 isn't low for a college gpa..
Nikki422 is offline   Reply   
Old 04-11-2005, 06:51 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 41
i always thought of NSCS and phi beta kappa as being legit, and phi theta kappa if you go to community college.

phi beta kappa is really good you have to have a 3.8 after 50 hours... i've definitley heard about that one as being really impressive.
lovelight15 is offline   Reply   
Old 04-11-2005, 07:05 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: the 20 square miles that refuse to be bothered by reality- AKA Ann Arbor
Posts: 540
I don't know. I doubt any of it helps in grad/transfer admissions.

I just assumed NCSC was a scam because they sent me 4 packets that literally followed the "who's who of HS students" crap I used to get in high school to the letter.
Maize&Blue22 is offline   Reply   
Old 04-11-2005, 07:29 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 403
phi theta kappa is pretty solid..a lot of schools actually have scholarships for students in ptk that don't require any extra forms, they're just automatic. i believe tulane has one for 10K or something..not too shabby
Nikki422 is offline   Reply   
Old 04-11-2005, 11:47 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 296
Are you sure that NCSC is not a scam? Then why would they then request a $75 from the first pont? They would request even more money if you have become a member. Keep in mind that true non-scam organizations NEVER request money.
cool0215 is offline   Reply   
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Copyright 2001-2009, Hobsons, Inc., All Rights Reserved