Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Who at CC is applying to Penn?

Replies to: Who at CC is applying to Penn?

• akacesfanakacesfan Registered User Posts: 624 Member
    I just submitted my RD app for CAS! Here we go...
  • jemster1996jemster1996 Registered User Posts: 18 New Member
    ED: Wharton vs Columbia

Hi there!

I'm an international student applying in the 2015/2016 cycle. If you're curious about my stats, I would say that my overall portfolio would put me in decent stead to try for the ivy leagues but they will definitely still be "reaches" for me, especially considering the fact that I am an international student.

I intend to study major in Economics at university and hopefully go into finance/banking if possible. I recognize that in accordance with that Wharton should be the dream school. However, I really love New York City and going to Columbia would help me to taste a wider variety of subjects.

My questions are:

1) Which schools have lower admission rates for ED (i.e. which is harder to get into)? Although the ED rates for UPenn and Columbia are available online, they do not specify the admission rate of Wharton specifically. Could anyone comment on this please (I'm not from the US so I don't have sufficient knowledge/exposure to infer).

However: I'm assuming Wharton should be HYSPM-level hard to get into, making it harder to ED into than Columbia?