Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Changing tracks: Should I pursue a BFA or MFA?

LaitmaLaitma Posts: 2Registered User New Member
edited November 2012 in Visual Arts and Film Majors
So, I'm a college graduate with a BS in Environmental Engineering, but I want to go to art school. I was able to take classes at MICA during my senior year (I studied at JHU in Baltimore), so I took Intro to Sequential Art, Narrative Art, and Intro to 2D Animation. I also took Life Drawing and two video game design classes at JHU. I'm interested in ways to tell stories visually, and I want to go through an art program that will give me the credentials to compete for an industry-related job, most likely.

I tend to gravitate toward mentions of "illustration", "sequential art", and "animation", but really, all I want is to be a part of the creative process in determining how to tell a story, be it a film/animation or comic book/graphic novel. But it seems easier to find a steady job in storyboarding/animation work than with comics, so I lean toward programs with animation concentrations; still, I've been told that sequential art also prepares you very well for jobs in storyboarding. Right now I'm looking at SCAD, which has a really great Sequential Art program for both undergrad and grad, and an admissions advisor who will hopefully talk me through my choices.