Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Scholarship Portfolio examples

parlskyparlsky Posts: 37Registered User Junior Member
edited December 2010 in Visual Arts and Film Majors
I've been lurking around here for a while and finally decided to go ahead and post.

I was wondering if anyone knew a good place to find posted scholarship award-winning entry portfolios? I've found a few here and there, the biggest I've found so far is on the conceptart.org site, but I'm looking for high dollar award scholarships.

Just to give details on why I'm looking for that specifically; I'm a non-traditional student returning to art school 16 years after dropping out originally (CCAD). Didnt even make it a year, just wasnt ready for the commitment at the time. Needless to say, ruined my GPA, and lost my scholarship. Now, I'm looking to leave my lucrative but unfullfilling career in IT and hit school full time. I make decent money now so my EFC is high, but once I start back in school it's going to just be my wife's income, and she doesnt make nearly as much as I. I've also got a 13 year old son. Those facts being what they are, I'm going to need to score a significant scholarship if I'm going to be able to go back to a private art school.

I'm not worried about admissions, I've been a practicing artist, albeit amateur, this entire time and have solid representational art skills, a wide variety of experience in different media, and a nice list of "extracurricular" activities. But I'm trying to gauge where I need to be to land a good scholarship and seeing current examples would help immensely.

If anyone else has been through a similar process to me and feels like sharing any insight, I'd be more than grateful.