Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

SAT=1770. Can I get into these schools?

joanna130joanna130 Posts: 61Registered User Junior Member
edited January 2006 in What Are My Chances?
Schools I'm applying to:
-UNC-Chapel Hill (Early Action...find out 1/31)
-University of Southern California
-Carnegie Mellon University
-American University
-Georgetown University
-University of San Diego (Early Action....find out 1/31)
-George Washington University
-Rhodes College
-Denison University (Dad went there)
-Loyola University at Chicago

White, Female, transfer student (I started at my new school as a junior), went to 2 great private schools, now I'm a CA resident

Reason for transfer: My dad's job relocated him

GPA:
unweighted 3.7
weighted 3.9

SAT reasoning (yuck, i'm a bad test taker):
math 540
verbal 640
writing 590
essay:10

SAT II:
biology: 620

AP SCORES:
english-4
bio-2

Interviews and Recommendations are great! (thank god)

extracurriculars:
senior class president 12
jv swimming 9-10
science club 9,10,11,12
Musical Theater 10,11,12
Amnesty International Coordinator 11,12
Human Relations Council 10

Awards:
National Honor Society (2005-2006)
California Semi-Finalist for Drama Festival (2005)
National Youth Leadership Forum on Medicine UCLA Debate Winner (2005) National Youth Leadership Forum on Medicine Poster Session Finalist (2005) Notre Dame Academy Second Academic Honors (2005)
Notre Dame Academy Second Academic Honors (2004)
Nominated for the Heart of Mercy Award (2004)
California Semi-Finalist for Drama Festival (2004)
State of Michigan Poetry Contest: Editor’s Choice Award (2003)
National Biology Award (2002)

community service:
elementary school tutor for 200+ hours 9,10