Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

What are my chances of getting into an Ivy League/ Top 20 college with a 3.5 gpa?

digitalreformdigitalreform Registered User Posts: 21 New Member
I am currently a sophomore and my current gpa is a 3.5 UW and a 4.2 W. I go to a very rigorous magnet school. It ranks high in my state and I am in the IB program. I know my gpa is pretty low, but I am in the top 12% in my class. I am also taking honors classes online in order to boost my gpa.

I am a black (Nigerian) female and I want to become a neuroscientist.

extracurriculars:
International Students' Association club
Biomedical Club
Robotics club
member of the Teen Advisory Board at my library
I was a contributing photographer for an online magazine in my freshman yr
I volunteer as a part of the PeaceJam confrence yearly
I volunteer at the library during the summer
Secretary of my city's Gavel club (for teenagers)
member of the Joe Berg Society (seminar series)
I also do freelance photography on my spare time (I might write about it in my college app essay idk lol)

Please be as honest as possible. My gpa has been bothering me for quite a while now.

Replies to: What are my chances of getting into an Ivy League/ Top 20 college with a 3.5 gpa?

• HiEthanHiEthan Registered User Posts: 24 New Member