Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

USC/UC Berkeley

squelchy451squelchy451 Posts: 497Registered User Member
edited October 2008 in What Are My Chances?
Hi
Right now, I'm a sophomore.
My weighted GPA so far is 4.28
unweighted GPA is 3.72
I got 800 on SATII Math 2C and 790 on SATII Korean (I'm korean btw)
If I get around 2100 on the SAT, are the grades and test scores good enough for USC or UC Berkeley?
Post edited by squelchy451 on

Replies to: USC/UC Berkeley

• kyledavid80kyledavid80 Posts: 8,093Registered User Senior Member
    A 3.72 is slightly weak for Berkeley (I've seen many qualified applicants--2260, etc.--with a 3.7 get rejected); the average UW GPA is a 3.9 or so. So make sure to take the most rigorous course load and do as well as you can. Your W GPA is right about the average UC GPA for Berkeley.

If you're in-state, a 2100 is a good estimate (right around the average). If you're OOS, I would recommend 2200+.
  • squelchy451squelchy451 Posts: 497Registered User Member
    thanx.
    any chances in MIT? My uncle went to the graduate business school there.
    I know MIT's hard to get into, but no harm in trying
  • Gabs91Gabs91 Posts: 513Registered User Member
    USC I think you'll get in but Berkeley might be hard because they are such top rated school (USC's great too though. Go Trojans!) :)
    MIT is going to be an uphill battle. Don't worry because that is the way it is for everybody because there are so many smart, qualified people applying. Have something that makes you shine and that says "Pick me instead of that other person with a perfect 2400". Your SAT IIs are great and just keep working hard. You're going to get intoa terrific school! :)