Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Clam fart!!!!!!!! Oh my God... What did I do?!

SillBillSillBill Posts: 236Registered User Junior Member
edited January 6 in What Are My Chances?
I just realized that I listed "clam fart" as an extracurricular activity on my application to Yale. *dies* I was filling it out while one of my friends was over my house, and she was intently watching as I filled it out (which was annoying me). So, as a shocker, I typed in "clam fart" and she started laughing hysterically. BUT I FORGOT TO DELETE IT!!!!! What's worse is that I wrote that I had been doing it for 17 years!!!!!!!!!!! I don't even know what a clam fart is!!!!! It's already submitted (obviously), but I didn't re-read the printed version of my application closely until today. Should I call the office of admissions??
Post edited by SillBill on

Replies to: Clam fart!!!!!!!! Oh my God... What did I do?!

• tickytock14tickytock14 Posts: 617Registered User Member
    funniest post I've ever read on CC.
  • swimcatsmomswimcatsmom Posts: 14,968Registered User Senior Member
    That's really funny.
  • BedHeadBedHead Posts: 2,730Registered User Senior Member
    Wow, I would try to get in touch with them personally -- phone, don't email -- and explain to them the circumstances of what happened.

I think the most serious issue here is the perceived lying that you have been involved in clam fart for 17 years. That kind of lying gets even those granted admission rescinded. Less important, but still not good for you, is the fact that you left clam fart activities on your application simply because you didn't proofread carefully enough.

Good luck. I hope you've learned something from this.