Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

What do my chances at the U.S. Air Force Academy look like?

robertwilliams10robertwilliams10 - Posts: 5 New Member
I am currently a sophomore at a top college preparatory school in my area. In my freshman year, I took two honors classes, Chemistry Honors, which is usually taken by strong juniors, and Geometry Honors, which is usually taken by strong freshman or sophomores. However, I didn't do so well in these two classes (around a C average for both Chemistry Honors and Geometry Honors). The English and History courses were the same for every freshman, but I believe I would have been in honors classes, if they were offered (around a B in English and around an A for History). I took the maximum number of courses available to a freshman, including two electives, Multimedia Design and Band. I had two unsuccessful campaigns for school vice president and school treasurer, but I was elected class representative for the ninth grade class. Over the course of my freshman year, I had over 50 community service hours, which earned me Community Service Honors. I was also a member of my church's youth group. I was cast in my school's spring drama production, and wrote and performed a play for a school drama festival. I did not participate in my school's athletic program in my freshman year, as I was focusing on my academics during the transition from a small Catholic middle school to a rigorous college preparatory school.