right arrow
Informational Message Stay on top of the information you need to navigate the admissions process amid the COVID-19 pandemic. We've got articles, videos and forum discussions that provide answers to all of your test prep, admissions and college search questions.   Visit our COVID-19 resource page.

Introducing Kai!
Your College Confidential guide bot.

Kai can provide tips and support as you research and apply to colleges, and explore majors and careers.

Chat with Kai
here, 24/7!

or Skip Forever

A new forum experience awaits you this November! We can't wait to share it with you soon. Want to see how it looks before the big move? Experience the new CC Forums now and let us know your thoughts!

Early Decision Chances

arnoldlaynearnoldlayne 7 replies6 threads New Member
edited August 2005 in Amherst College
I am an international student that applied RD last year and got put on the waitlist. Thinking of reapplying this year (serving mandatory 2 years in the army) as an ED applicant.

Here are my stats:

Old SAT I: 1450 (710V/740M)
SAT II: 800 physics, 800 Math IIC, 720 Writing
I did relatively well for the GCE A-levels I sat for, am one of the top English Literature Students, while taking higher level Math and Physics papers (S-papers)
I had one pretty good rec plus one that was not bad but projected me as rather laidback.
My essays I think were good.
I represented the college in Basketball, participating in numerous competitions out of school as well.
I was the asst class rep, was part of a committee that organised and ran a leadership camp for a primary school, represented my country in taekwondo when I was young and used to swim competitively at a national level (6 years ago). I have 100 hours of community service.

My ECs are rather weak (no leadership positions), and now I read that applying ED to Amherst is not as favourable as other colleges. Advice please???
edited August 2005
2 replies
Post edited by arnoldlayne on
· Reply · Share