Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

is this ok?

motivated_101motivated_101 Registered User Posts: 750 Member
edited February 2009 in AP Tests Preparation
ok so, i'm really interested in math and so i've been trying to get to higher levels of math in school. In the summer before freshman year, i took a geometry class over the summer. So as a freshman i was in the sophmore honors math class.

now this year, im a sophmore in precalc and I'm self studying ap calc ab even though it is offered at my school. I've gotten pretty far (just starting integrals).

I've heard that colleges don't like it when you self study for an ap offered at your school, but do you think my case is an exception? Because like I said, i really really like math and I don't find my schools math class's challenging enough.
Post edited by motivated_101 on

Replies to: is this ok?

• SharkObsessedSharkObsessed Registered User Posts: 350 Member
    I say you should go right ahead, they just don't want people to self-study just because they know they won't get as easy of an A as they want if they take the actual AP.
  • stephennnstephennn Registered User Posts: 2,103 Senior Member
    you are right on track for calc ab, we started integrals right before december break. (i know this wasn't the purpose of the thread, but i just wanted to let you know =D)

you should be fine. as long as you do well on the exam!
  • mathinokcmathinokc Registered User Posts: 925 Member