Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Effect of "Parent Education" Question

Sally_RubenstoneSally_Rubenstone CC Admissions Expert Posts: 3,648 Senior Member
edited January 2010 in Ask The Dean Topics
Question: As a parent, I was asked about my high school/college and what year I graduated. I would like to know if the parents’ level of education affects the student’s college acceptance. A parent’s educational background can sometimes help put an applicant’s information in perspective for admission officials. For example, if a student has very [...]

View the complete Q&A at CC's Ask The Dean...
Post edited by Sally_Rubenstone on

Replies to: Effect of "Parent Education" Question

• rodneyrodney Registered User Posts: 9,406 Senior Member
    Based on Sally's response, probably a good idea for us to keep our Ivy league grad degrees off our average "B" student's application.......

wish I knew that two years ago with my firstborn; good student but "I guess we didn't expose her to enough intellectual conversations at the dinner table"......

FWIW, I agree that a first generation college student with good grades can get a "pass" from admissions, but how can admissions assume that the "accomplished" parent didn't go to the Ivy on FA?.....and since when did going to a top school "infer/assume" that kids would have the same interests/opportunities regardless of income levels.....? lots of assumptions being made based on 25-30 years ago.....