right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
GUEST STUDENT OF THE WEEK: Rohan is a freshman at Dartmouth (and loves it) having gotten in ED for the Class of 2023. He's here to debunk myths regarding admissions and student life at his school. ASK HIM ANYTHING!
Make sure to check out our May Checklists for HS Juniors and HS Seniors. Consult these quick resources to get you started on the process this month.
As we work to adjust to the current reality, make sure to check out these dedicated COVID-19 resources: our directory of virtual campus tours, our directory of extended deadlines, as well as the list of schools going test optional this fall.

ARE NIGERIANS CONSIDERED FOR ADMISSION

Hello Mrs. Sally Rubenstone, I'm an International Student (Nigerian) and I applied to 20 Schools using the common app. I am somehow feeling nervous after a teacher asked me if Nigerians are ever considered for admission. Also, I want to know what's the probability that my location can get me in?

Lastly, if Freshman matriculate at schools like Yale, do they wear matriculation gowns?
1 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: ARE NIGERIANS CONSIDERED FOR ADMISSION

• Sally_RubenstoneSally_Rubenstone CC Admissions Expert 3184 replies1122 threads CC Admissions Expert
    Most American colleges welcome applicants from around the world, including from Nigeria. However, US colleges are VERY popular in Nigeria, and so the competition for acceptance is very stiff. In my experience working with Nigerian students, I have found that many over-reach." That is, they aim for the MOST competitive universities, such as Yale, which you have mentioned, and they don't fully realize how challenging it will be to get good news.