right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
College Confidential stands united with African American students and their families against racial injustice and in pursuit of higher education and equality in America.
GUEST STUDENT OF THE WEEK: Zai Dawodu overcame a low GPA to get into top schools like Northwestern or NYU. She'll be attending Northwestern to study Computer Science. ASK HER ANYTHING!
Make sure to check out our June Checklists for HS Juniors and HS Seniors. Consult these quick resources to get you started on the process this month.
As we work to adjust to the current reality, make sure to check out these dedicated COVID-19 resources: our directory of virtual campus tours, our directory of extended deadlines, as well as the list of schools going test optional this fall.

Tricked by College Admissions and Coach

tennis98tennis98 10 replies2 threads New Member
Hey Guys,

I am an international student applying to college in the US as a student athlete.

A few months ago, I got in contact with a coach from an elite US college who wanted to recruit me as a student athlete. They said that I passed the academic pre-read and I would have to apply Early Decision in order to guarantee a spot on the team. As financial aid is a big consideration for me, I informed the coach of my reluctance to apply ED. However, they informed me that I could first apply Early Action and receive a Financial Aid Pre-Read, and if I was happy with the financial aid package, I could then switch my decision to ED.