Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Transportation

ashlellieashlellie Registered User Posts: 1 New Member
edited December 2011 in Bard College
Hi!

I'm a prospective student (already applied) and have not had a chance to visit the campus due to the cost of travel, though from the pictures it seems beautiful. I have one concern though: from the map, the school appears to be huge. What's it like for a student without a bike on campus? Would you have trouble getting around?

Thank you for any insight!
Post edited by ashlellie on

Replies to: Transportation

• stradmomstradmom Registered User Posts: 4,869 Senior Member
    It's entirely walkable (and very pleasant in most weather!) There's a shuttle bus that you can take from one end of campus to the other. It's certainly smaller than many of the larger universities out there!

If you don't bring a bike, you can borrow one from the Bike Coop on campus.

Most academic classes are in one relatively small area (with a few exceptions), so you might find that you only need to walk from your housing to the academic center once a day. And many of the firstyear dorms are quite close to that location.
  • danceclassdanceclass Registered User Posts: 728 Member