Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

My high school focus is different from what I want to do?

alexaa525alexaa525 Registered User Posts: 23 New Member
edited May 2012 in Business Major
I am currently a sophomore in high school. I do everything centered around biology, as my parents highly expect me to be a doctor. I have gone along with it for a while but...I am very interested in majoring in either econ or business administration, and then going to business school.

My question: if on my college apps I put economics as my preferred major, will having my high school focus as biology/ premed look strange? Would this be a negative? I will have over 300 volunteer hours at a hospital by then and I have participated in numerous biology programs, some quite competitive.
Post edited by alexaa525 on

Replies to: My high school focus is different from what I want to do?

• terencterenc Registered User Posts: 1,128 Senior Member
    So let's get this straight. You are not interested in medicine? You're not interested in bio at all?
    Keep in mind that it is possible to be interested in bio but not interested in being a doctor, and that it is possible to do business in medical fields (i.e. running hospitals, for one, or doing biotech).

You can always say bio is your preferred major, and then do econ... No one will hold you to it.
  • alexaa525alexaa525 Registered User Posts: 23 New Member