Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Odds at Goldman--very bad

Replies to: Odds at Goldman--very bad

• mahras2mahras2 Registered User Posts: 1,977 Senior Member
    I have been interning at a buy side trading firm for two years (academic + summer). I have no interest in IBD.
    As for credentials: academic finance research (to be published in peer reviewed journal), relevant work experience (as stated 2 years as well as a small venture I was a part of), random connections (one MD in IBD is someone I have dinner with relatively frequently, people I contacted regarding various research who are connected etc). Not saying I (or anyone in this thread) am overqualified (I could care less about IBD). Just saying the generalization that everyone has a poor shot based on your anecdotes is false.
  • TheMK99TheMK99 Registered User Posts: 1,019 Member
    mahras is a good guy he shouldn't be getting insulted and **** on this forum for no reason.
  • redhare317redhare317 Registered User Posts: 1,449 Senior Member
    Yes, mahras knows his stuff. He's just not into IB.
  • Sam LeeSam Lee Registered User Posts: 9,449 Senior Member