Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Got rejected to CSULB...

twitchyeyedtwitchyeyed Registered User Posts: 4 New Member
Hello, I'm an resident in Massachusetts and I'd had applied for fall admission in 2013 to Cal state Long beach. I have all my common cores finished with 60 transferable credits after this spring semester. My gpa is 3.714 at a local state university and I'm not involved in any extracurricular activities. Just wanted to know why they rejected me, I wish they would tell you in the letter the reason so you can improve on something, rather than just saying,"CSULB admissions are more competitive than ever this year,sorry".
This worries my because I have applied to UCSB, UCI, and UCLA. If I can't get admitted to even their inferior state school, I doubt i'll gain admission to the UCs.
Post edited by twitchyeyed on

Replies to: Got rejected to CSULB...

• csulbhopefullcsulbhopefull Registered User Posts: 27 New Member
    I am suspecting it's mainly because you're out of state. CSULB is not particularly hard to get in to. The average SAT last year was just 960/ 1600 which is pretty much what I have and that's pretty low. I am very hopeful I can get in this year for Mechanical Engineering. I already got rejected from Cal Poly Pomona. Here's where I got my stats.

California State University, Long Beach - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Your only hope is that the UCs will be more hungry for your out of state money. Have you applied to any other CSU?
  • myboby123myboby123 Registered User Posts: 428 Member