Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Limited options at a small school

13CollegeGirl1313CollegeGirl13 Registered User Posts: 8 New Member
edited October 2010 in College Admissions
I'm a sophomore who go to a small school...a very small school (about 300 students k-12) and there are very few honors/AP classes and ECs avalavable. I really want to go to a school like Cornell with a strong math and physics program.

I take the hardest classes offered at my school/ several online that arn't, and have a 4.0 gpa. I run track, and cross country. I will also be in a ski cadet program, and by either my junior or senior year i will probably be a ski instructor. I am also on the knowledge bowl team. Im looking into community service opportunities that i can do (I currently peer tutor), and will probably have a lot of community service hours. I've always had good test scores and expect to score high on the SAT/ACT and will also be taking several SAT Subject Tests. I also participated in EPGY's Stanford summer program in Cosmology.

I'm doing the best I can with what is avalable to me but im still really worried about not having a strong application. What else can i do to improve my chances of getting in to a school like Cornell?
Post edited by 13CollegeGirl13 on

Replies to: Limited options at a small school

• paperbackheadpaperbackhead Registered User Posts: 218 Junior Member