Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

American reapplying... to a Canadian school

DrChickenDrChicken Registered User Posts: 11 New Member
edited May 2011 in College Admissions
I may have posted here once or twice many years back, and I found the information and feedback to be helpful, so I'm hoping that I can get something similar for my current situation.

I am currently a junior undergraduate engineering student at Northwestern. I was accepted here on an ROTC scholarship. As it turns out, I despise engineering and the school, but had no luck with transferring or changing majors because of my scholarship. Now I find myself being medically disenrolled from my binding scholarship (disqualifying, permanent damage imparted to my right leg), with absolutely no debt to my name after three years.

I've been looking at good political science/international relations schools (with engineering so I can complete my current degree) to transfer to, but I've found none with an acceptable price range (Berkeley and Michigan are way overpriced, imo).

To the point: A friend of mine suggested that I look at McGill... Why are most Canadian schools exponentially cheaper than their American counterparts? AFAIK, McGill is comparable to Northwestern in rankings but is less than half the cost.