Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Share feedback related to your experience on College Confidential to help us shape future initiatives.

"Race" in College Admission FAQ & Discussion 10

Replies to: "Race" in College Admission FAQ & Discussion 10

• myKitsunemyKitsune Registered User Posts: 17 New Member
    My parents immigrated from West Africa.

I graduated high school as a 'hispanic', on my transcript, student file papers, and all.
  • terencterenc Registered User Posts: 1,128 Senior Member
    But if you're going to identify yourself as Hispanic and have not a trace of appreciation for the culture, be it in your essays or activities, than you might as well not even check the box at all. AdComs will know right away and could even see you as a disingenuous person. As we all know, colleges do not like dishonest people.

All I can say is embrace who you are. If you're lying on your app to make a longshot closer to your grasp, that one factor is probably not going to change much. Check race, don't check your race, say you're an ethnicity that you're really not. It's all legal, but do you want to be lying to yourself?

Eh... I'm fairly sure not even many Hispanic/Blacks have their racial heritage "bleed" through the app.

The point is that adcom officers are not going to "assume you're lying" just because your name "doesn't sound Hispanic" even though you checked off the Hispanic box.
    say you're an ethnicity that you're really not. It's all legal, but do you want to be lying to yourself?