Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Chances of getting into a decent college are ruined?

LaDiDaDaLaDiDaLaDiDaDaLaDiDa Registered User Posts: 173 Junior Member
So I had to deal with a lot of crap during my freshman year. My grades ended up suffering and my weighted GPA was 3.6. However, this year as a sophomore, I have managed to get my act together. Last year my average was a C+ in English, and this year it is an A+. I took Algebra 1 in 9th grade, yet I am going to be taking Calculus BC as a junior( this would put me ahead of everyone in my grade). My question is, would universities actually care about what I did? Many of the unis I LOVE happen to be "top" schools. Is freshman year going to ruin everything? I really am trying to redeem myself here. I was rejected from Exeter and now I feel as if everything else is going to be impossible for me. Do you know of anyone who has a similar story and found success? Thanks for taking the time to read this. I need done inspiration.

Replies to: Chances of getting into a decent college are ruined?

• MrMom62MrMom62 Registered User Posts: 3,488 Senior Member
    Please explain how you plan on going from Algebra I as a freshman to Calc BC as a junior. That seems to be a rather unlikely progression, as you are missing about two years of math.
  • LaDiDaDaLaDiDaLaDiDaDaLaDiDa Registered User Posts: 173 Junior Member