Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Horrendous ACT score

2»

Replies to: Horrendous ACT score

• viphanviphan Registered User Posts: 1,270 Senior Member
    edited December 2014
    My parents spent few thousands on SAT courses, and I barely broke a 2000. When I took the ACT for the first time, I got a 30, which was about equivalent to my SAT. Having set my eyes on some elite institutions, I knew I would never make it with that score.

I studied my butt of this past summer, taking a full length simulation exam every single day (sometimes two), and I retook the ACT this past September.

I got a whooping 35. I would have been ecstatic had I gotten a 34, heck 33 even.

Don't give up and give your very best. Only you know if you really tried your best.
  • Rboy31Rboy31 Registered User Posts: 21 New Member
    edited December 2014
    It's better than the SAT equivalent of a 19 on the ACT but barley. I got a 1420. I know It was bad as well. That's why I'm here asking if these tests will be the cataclysmic to my applications. Baylor gave me select status because they thought I would be a good fit because of my PSAT scores. So I don't know what to make of that
    Thanks, I want to but I think it's to late. I need to confirm with TCU about taking the Feb. ACT. I sent in my application for the early decision II application.