Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Should I complain that?

swt255swt255 Registered User Posts: 3 New Member
Hi, I am a transfer applicant for Fall 2016. I am studying in a community college.
Today, I got rejected by UC Berkeley, but most students in my college got in.
Many of those admitted students get really low GPA such as 3.1 and 3.3. My GPA is 3.9 and my major is not a competitive major. They are international students, but I am a permanent resident. Another friend of mine whose GPA is 3.97 got rejected too. Those admitted students join a same club which usually contacts with a staff in Berkeley.
I asked my friends from other community colleges, they told me the admitted students in their schools got GPA 3.9+
I felt that it's unfair for us. Can I complain Berkeley of that?
Where can I complain to ? I don't want to get in because I just want to get a fair answer.

Thank you

Replies to: Should I complain that?

• MITer94MITer94 Registered User Posts: 4,747 Senior Member
    @swt255 I wouldn't. Maybe those students had something else in their application that stood out that maybe you don't even know about.
  • swt255swt255 Registered User Posts: 3 New Member
    edited April 2016
    @MITer94 But I also have some internship experience and extracurricular activities. My friend from other CC told me that there's an admitted student whose GPA is 3.7 and participated fewer extracurricular activities than me. His major is the same as mine.
    edited April 2016