Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Worried my ECs aren't focused enough?

figdaysfigdays Registered User Posts: 9 New Member
Hi, i'm in my final semester of CC and will be applying for transfer after it is over. I have a lot of ECs and i'm worried they make me look scattered/unfocused, when the truth is I just have a lot of free time and love getting involved with different organizations. What do you think? I'm a biology major, 4.0. Looking to go into conservation biology/marine biology, to do research/be a professor/work for a nonprofit, etc

ECs: Founder/President of my college's speech and debate team/NFL competitor/NFL judge(side job)
Volunteer at my high school's speech and debate team, work in TAB which is all the behind the scenes organization and work. (60 hours a year)
Work 25 hours a week as a kindergarten teacher at a private school(worked my way up from summer camp counselor to teacher) I am responsible for creating lesson plans, buying supplies, and teaching the kids.
Worked with the National Parks Service in a intern-type program.
Well established painter, i've won several competitions and sell my art regularly
Volunteer wildlife rehabilitator
Volunteer with an organization that spays and neuters outdoor cats, takes injured ones and gives them a home
Volunteer zookeeper
Chosen out of 10K applicants to go to a 3 day environmental conference