Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Am I transfer or freshman?

NotLeviosaaaNotLeviosaaa Registered User Posts: 10 New Member
edited November 14 in College Admissions
Hi. I'm an international student planning to apply this year's regular decision. I am currently a freshman in university(outside U.S, of course). I finished the first semester and I earned 15 credits. I'm still in the first year. If I apply regular decision, my current second-semester score will be out in January, or maybe February, and I will earn total 30 credits.

I'm really confused about my status. Because I'll apply to universities in December, did I just finish one semester? Or full one-year because I'll complete my freshman year before my application results coming out?

Question1
"If you complete your first year at another institution, you will not be applying as a freshman in the Regular Decision pool. Rather, you will apply as a transfer student." Awwww what should I do? Am I transfer?

Question2
"Students with one full-time semester or more of postsecondary education by the time of enrollment should apply as transfer students. Students with less than one full-time semester by the time of enrollment are encouraged to apply as first-year students." What does exactly "enrollment" mean?!? After accepted, or just apply?

Question3