Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

What should I do about my extracurriculars?

ts8096ts8096 Registered User Posts: 1 New Member
I'm a sophomore and I go to a really competitive magnet highschool for science. For this reason, I spend more time on my studies than my extracurriculars. I'm planning on either doing pharmacy or something else med related in the future (not yet decided because of all the bad things I've heard about pharm but that's for another post) My GPA is probably around 3.7. I have all A's and one B, but last year I had a mix of A's and Bs. I'm in all honors classes and this year I'm self studying for 2 APs.

For extracurriculars, I'm the main teacher and organizer of an organization at the library that holds STEM classes for children.(my only leadership position). I go there twice a week to plan the classes and I've been doing it since 7th or 8th grade. Over the years, I've created new classes and I even recruited a new volunteer and trained them, I'm also part of a volunteer organization at the library, I volunteer to tutor once a week (but I've only done it twice so far) and I've been volunteering at a nursing home since last year. I also play violin out of school but I have nothing to show for it and I'm not that good. In school i'm part of newspaper club and HOSA but I haven't qualified for any of the competitions. Starting next month I'm volunteering at a local hospital.