right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Should I (mom) delay my college graduation so my son can apply as "first generation"?

FafsaQuestionsFafsaQuestions 16 replies2 threadsRegistered User Junior Member
Hello! My son will be graduating from high school in 2023. Neither his dad nor I graduated from college so he is "first generation." I'm currently working on getting my degree (part-time) and if I continue at the pace I'm going right now, I would graduate in Spring 2022. He would be doing his college applications in Fall 2022 (6 months later). I'm thinking I could delay my graduation by 9 months or so, so that he can still apply as first generation. I wanted to get some information on how much of an impact being "first generation" would have on both his acceptances and scholarship offers to help me decide whether I should delay my graduation or not. Thank you!
45 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Should I (mom) delay my college graduation so my son can apply as "first generation"?

• skieuropeskieurope 38845 replies6862 threadsSuper Moderator Super Moderator
    There is no box on the application that says "Check here if you are first gen." The student lists his/her parents info, and the college does with it what it will. Different colleges have different definitions of first gen; some is the first gen to attend college while others is the first gen to graduate. Similarly, some colleges place greater weight on first gen than others. There is no blanket answer. In terms of a hook, it's probably minimal, and even then, the applicant would need to be strong on his/her own.

Is it enough to delay graduation? Not in my mind.
    · Reply · Share
  • FafsaQuestionsFafsaQuestions 16 replies2 threadsRegistered User Junior Member