Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Should I Transfer to a School for Girl When Other Transfer Options are Bleak

ajcohen1ajcohen1 Registered User Posts: 1 New Member
Greetings to all!

My name is Abe. I am a California community college student majoring in Electrical Engineering who is preparing to transfer colleges.

TLDR: Is it a terrible idea to transfer to Boise State University to save my relationship with my girlfriend when the only other college options are Cal States?

Long version:

My girlfriend is moving to Idaho and will be attending Boise State University because she is unable to afford UCSB (she's an Idaho resident). We do pseudo distance right now (live 2 hours away, but my car is not competent to make the drive,so we must utilize the Greyhound) and we have noticed that there is a strain on us right now.

I applied to universities last year and got into my mid-choice, which was UCSD. However, my father (who previously said he could afford it) said he was no longer financially stable enough to fund it. I foolishly only applied to UCs because I knew I could get into UCD (tag) and have had an irrational bias against CSUs. Note: I cannot get FAFSA because my family makes too much; however, because my family is irresponsible with their money, they cannot afford to fund a university. Moreover, because of their bad credit, I cannot get a cosign on a loan.