Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

How Rigid Are Assignment Submission Deadlines?

EastCoastKid123EastCoastKid123 Registered User Posts: 2 New Member
edited September 2018 in College Life
I'm guessing that it can depend on what school you go to and how intense it is, but I'm wondering how concerned I should be right now about submitting a paper 20 minutes past the deadline. I'm a freshman at a "selective/ somewhat rigorous" university and I just completed a homework assignment for a class by submitting it through the online portal. The syllabus says that these submissions are due by 11:59 PM Sunday night and anything past then will be accepted, but you will receive 0 credit for the assignment. I submitted the essay at 12:21 AM, am I screwed? **Some things to keep in mind: It's the second week of classes, we're still in the add/drop period for the fall semester, and I've already noticed that many things stated in the syllabus for other classes aren't typically the actual rules that the teacher ends up enforcing (For example, a mandatory attendance policy for a gen ed class with no exceptions for unexcused absences without a major penalty on your grade.)
Post edited by skieurope on

Replies to: How Rigid Are Assignment Submission Deadlines?

• WeLoveLymanWeLoveLyman Registered User Posts: 247 Junior Member