Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Family keeps inviting themselves to my graduation....

2»

Replies to: Family keeps inviting themselves to my graduation....

• UndercrackersUndercrackers Registered User Posts: 784 Member
    I guess I don't get why anyone wouldn't want to go to their own college graduation. Yes, they can be a hassle: too many people, too long/boring, too hot/cold/insert unfavorable weather here. I was a first-generation graduate, and it took me 6 years and a lot of hard work (both school and paying jobs) to get that degree. Did my mom/stepdad pay for all of my schooling? No, I paid for books/transportation/etc. and had a student loan afterwards to pay off. Did my dad pay for any of my schooling? Not a dime. Did I care? No, because these people were there to celebrate with me, and because I literally would not have been there except for them. It was one of the happiest and proudest days of my life, and I wanted to share it with people who cared enough to have the expectation that I would go to college and actually finish.

OP, if you are only interested in rewarding people who had a material hand in your college success, let the "limited" tickets thing be your excuse to keep the number of attendees down. If they really insist on being part of the celebration, have a family party afterwards. You can get someone at the ceremony to video it and show it at the party.