Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Another lonely college student

Replies to: Another lonely college student

• flipmomflipmom Registered User Posts: 9 New Member
    My heart goes out to you as I've read this thread. I experienced the same thing in college. I think everyone experiences it. In fact, I heard at a medical conference that I attended recently (I'm a physician) that there is an epidemic of loneliness in this country. Our coping includes getting busier, finding another place to live,partying ...basically distracting ourselves from that hollow feeling. Sometimes that helps, sometimes not.

It became a comfort for me to realize that-that I wasn't alone in feeling it. And I learned with time the idea of self care. If you are prone to depression, it's important to get back to basics. Sleep at least 8 hours a night,eat nourishing foods (look up Julia Ross's book The Mood Cure), get exercise (just walking for 30 min a day can help or join an aerobics or dance class). Get some sunlight daily, and if youre not in a sunny area, invest in a full spectrum light to keep on your desk.
    Take the advice of above and intentionally practice your social skills. Smile! Even when you don't feel like it, the action positvely imprints on your brain.j Defintely get away from any activity that negatively impacts you ie your quidditch team

Meditation can definitely help. Seek out a Buddhist or meditation group. It can be a refuge from all the swirling thoughts and rumination. You will find that these dark clouds will pass. Hugs.