Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
tiff90tiff90 - Posts: 1,370 Senior Member
edited July 2010 in College Life
I've been smoking for 7+ years. I love American Spirits and Kamel Reds. I enjoy smoking.

But, I need to quit for a few months.

I quit for 2 1/2 months, but picked it back up when I came back home (most of my friends smoke).

I smoke to relieve anxiety (such as when I'm exploring a condemned insane asylum, or even just outside in social situations), increase my concentration/focus (I have never and will never buy Adderal or Ritalin for various reasons) and suppress cravings (or I have a drink or two, but that adds up more than cigarettes).

I've tried switching to Snus, but I don't like that it's flavored. The mellow tastes weird, and the frost tastes like a menthol. I won't try dip or chew.

Any suggestions for how to find other means to address the reasons that I smoke? I have never found something to replace smoking with. I enjoy smoking, and I've quit before. It's more that I found it to be the cheapest and most enjoyable way to calm down and stay focused when I study, and give me a kick in the morning (not a coffee person).

Surprisingly, none of my friends have actually quit smoking, so they really couldn't offer any advice (a lot of them have smoked longer than I have).

Any insight would be appreciated, because smoking and getting in running shape don't really work...
Post edited by tiff90 on

Replies to: Smokers

• viciouspoultryviciouspoultry Registered User Posts: 837 Member