right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
1 DAY until our COVID-19's impact on admissions webinar, tomorrow at 3:00 pm ET. REGISTER NOW and let us know what questions you have and want answered.
Check out our newest addition to the Student Lounge. Go to the "STUDENT HERE: Ask Me Anything!" and connect with fellow students who can answer your school specific questions!
Most of the decisions are in by now. Connect with fellow students and share support for those who didn't get the best news.

Should I Change My Major? (and other minor questions)

BadSoloBadSolo 0 replies1 threads New Member
I'm an undergrad majoring in computer science. After a couple years into the program and further research into prospective careers, I cannot not see myself continuing down this path. I've actually questioned my major decision since my first year, but I thought I would come to like it if I stayed. I've been advised to just sick it out, that I need to learn become passionate, and I have been told that I'm just being lazy. I just don't want to work towards something that could make me miserable. However, I know I'm guaranteed financial stability and can always pursue my passion on the side. Should I stay for another quarter? I'm only halfway done.

I'm also going to see an adviser next week regarding this issue, so I would greatly appreciate it if anyone wants to provide some topics I should be focusing on or any questions I should ask. I usually leave my appointments with nothing helpful because I don't asked the right questions, hahaha.

I should also note that I may be excused for the current quarter due to declining mental health, but nothing is for sure. So if anyone has any career exploration advice during this empty time slot, that would also be welcomed!
Any advice is appreciated, and I'm open to any questions. Thank you! :)

(For reference I go to UCD.)
4 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Should I Change My Major? (and other minor questions)