right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Report Lists the Highest- and Lowest-Paying College Majors

CCEdit_TorreyCCEdit_Torrey 31 replies273 threadsEditor Editor
A new report from Zippia outlines the highest- and lowest-paying college majors: https://www.collegeconfidential.com/articles/highest-lowest-paying-college-majors/
21 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Report Lists the Highest- and Lowest-Paying College Majors

• GregmacdGregmacd 111 replies13 threadsRegistered User Junior Member
    edited June 7
    I worked as an intern at an Oil Refinery, and learned that engineers there made about 20% more than other engineers in the area at the time. The salary stated by Zippia for petroleum engineering is much higher than what I found in my experience and other surveys, such as the one I posted below.

Also, the work environment is rather rough. You wear a nomex fire proof suit most of the time, because fires are a real risk. What can be more dangerous than boiling gasoline? Also, a lot of chemicals, strong odors, loud noises, etc. Anyhow, it's not for everyone.

Bottomline: Don't go into petroleum engineering to make a lot of money. You'll make slightly more, but the work environment might not be worth it.

https://www.payscale.com/college-salary-report/majors-that-pay-you-back/bachelors
    edited June 7
    · Reply · Share
  • firmament2xfirmament2x 277 replies0 threadsRegistered User Junior Member
    Thanks for both your inputs @hopedaisy and @Gregmacd . . .

Gregmacd, are you differentiating the engineers between those in the oil industry and those outside of it by saying "in the area at the time"? Payscale in its listings in your link isn't differentiating between regional COL adjustments to pay. If, say, most of the refineries are in Texas and Oklahoma -- I would have no clue if this were true -- then their salaries adjusted to the relatively low COL of those two states would rise considerably higher factoring in regionality.