right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Non-traditional Veteran Choosing Major

11BangBang11BangBang 6 replies3 postsRegistered User New Member
I am a non-traditional student, veteran, 40+, etc. Going back to school, paid for via VA college funds. Have a horrible school record, did some college, but when I was young and didn't really want to go to school, so some classes I did great, others I blew off and bombed. So I'm going to a community college for a transfer studies degree and to work to bring up my GPA. Did great in Business Law, History, Algebra, Political Science...But messed up my grade in Algebra, and its been so long since I've done math I know math I will need to start from the basic Math Literacy class.

I am trying to decide on a major. My work experience has been in IT (networking, some programming), and in the military I went through Biomedical Tech training. So in addition to IT, though its been a long time, have some medical coursework and knowledge (did pretty well). My dream would be to go to law school eventually, but I am also considering Physical Therapy and other paths. I really enjoy helping people and having myself dealt with a lot of things in life, I am also strongly considering taking a route leading to Social Work or Psychology.

Any advice on majors to consider would very much be appreciated. Something that would transcend well to either pursing law school, physical therapy (DPT?), Masters in Psychology/Social Work...I know I probably sound all over the place, but that's my personality, I learn and excel quickly at things and am all over the place with my interests.

Some degrees I've been thinking of, again all over the place; Anthropology (seems good across the board for advanced schooling or if I end up not going beyond Bachelor's), Business Administration, Biology, Computer Science, English, Cybersecurity, International Business or Relations, Psychology, Sociology, Social Work or Linguistics.