right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
We’ve got a new look! Walk through the key updates here.

A dilemma!

bextehudebextehude 2 replies5 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 7 New Member
edited November 2011 in College Search & Selection
Hey all -

I am a sophomore at Vanderbilt University. While I know I am smart, I have been humbled about 20 notches since coming here. Some students here are on the road to become great professors at top universities and have spent most of their life so far reading (though I love a good book).

I'm realizing things about myself - I'm very creative, and will not easily fit into any job slot and be happy - even academia. I'll probably leave college and open a store that I can make my own.

The friends I have made here are great, out of the ordinary, and brilliant. I'm learning all the time.

However, my parents are paying full tuition out of pocket. My father is a surgeon and I am very thankful for this opportunity. But I can't help but feel guilty because I am quite certain I am not cut out for academia, so I know I am in a 200-something thousand dollar degree program for the sake of education itself.

I'm trying to decide if I should stay and appreciate this opportunity to learn, or if I should save my parents' money and educate myself at my state school. Perhaps that money will come into use someday. On the other hand, maybe the Vanderbilt degree will prove itself to be invaluable later down the road. What do you think?
edited November 2011
6 replies
Post edited by bextehude on
· Reply · Share

Replies to: A dilemma!

• milkweedmilkweed 611 replies54 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 665 Member