Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Brown vs. Cornell vs. Duke vs. UMich?

mzday73mzday73 Registered User Posts: 1 New Member
edited September 2013 in College Search & Selection
I'm a student looking for a school with great Humanities programs (along with strength in every major in case studies in English or Psychology don't work out) as well as sturdy athletics (namely women's rowing). In terms of academia, which college is the best? (Also for job placement...) Any input is helpful!
Post edited by mzday73 on

Replies to: Brown vs. Cornell vs. Duke vs. UMich?

• BrownParentBrownParent Registered User Posts: 12,776 Senior Member
    Those things are just not quantifiable.

Job placement is about a lot more than which school you went to. In this economy it pays off to make yourself attractive through research and internship experiences.
  • whatisbusinesswhatisbusiness Registered User Posts: 59 Junior Member
    in terms of humanities ranking. They are all top tier so its really apples and oranges. However I do think that the top 3 give you the snob factor over mich.
    Brown
    Duke
    Cornell
    Michigan
    In terms of college experience ranking (this section is not objective whatsoever)
    Duke
    Cornell
    Michigan
    Brown

For Rowing, any Ivy league will have a great team. Michigan is huge so if you are trying to walk on to the actual team GL, but there will obv be club.

If I had to pick two to go to I would pick Cornell and Michigan. However, for what you want Brown and Duke are your best fits.