right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
We’ve got a new look! Walk through the key updates here.

Tough (and Odd) College Enrolment Decision

Danny3895Danny3895 125 replies14 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 139 Junior Member
Hello everyone!

I am an international student with decent grades and scores. However, I was unable to get into my top-choice colleges along with one safety school I applied. I and my counselor was completely shocked to find that out as I am not a bad student overall. But I was looking for large amount of aid and most of my schools were need-aware.

I have gotten into one college in Boston called Suffolk University. And not sure if I should go in or take a gap year and repplay next year while improving my weakness. The problem is I am already one year older than the rest of class because I went on an exchange program in US where I had to repeat the class again back home.

I would like to hear some suggestions here. Should I go to this college and transfer to a good place next year or take a gap year and reapply to top schools again?
34 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Tough (and Odd) College Enrolment Decision

• ucbalumnusucbalumnus 76129 replies663 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 76,792 Senior Member
    Is Suffolk affordable, and does it offer what you want to study?

Why not universities in your country of citizenship or residency?
    · Reply · Share
  • AroundHereAroundHere 3579 replies22 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 3,601 Senior Member
    What would you do to improve your application over a gap year? If you don't do anything that would boost your applications, you need to look at schools a step below the ones that rejected you.

Even if you enroll at Suffolk, the schools you try to transfer to should be a different list of schools, not the same ones that rejected you. Include safer safeties and don't reach quite so high in your new list.
    · Reply · Share