Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Intervention

syncccsynccc Registered User Posts: 10 New Member
This is from a "chance me" thread, and reposted at the request of @gearmom, which understandably says I should apply to some different schools. Where do you think I should go?

Hello. I convinced myself that a <10% admit rate is doable, but I just need that "extra bout of confidence" before sending my applications off. /s

I graduated in May 2017, but I'm taking a gap year. I will go to college in the fall of 2018.

The "holistic" part:
- Florida public school
- Immigrant (born in Mexico to Mexican and Cuban parents)
- Male
- Not brown enough to be randomly stopped by immigration
- Computer nerd (started teaching myself coding since age 12-ish)

Numbers:
- 1500 SAT (750 English, 750 Math, 5/5/5 Essay)
- 760 SAT Mathematics Level 2
- 750 SAT Physics
- 34 ACT Composite (35 ENG, 34 MAT, 33 REA, 34 SCI, 07 WRI, 29 ELA, 34 STEM)

- Unweighted GPA: 3.16 (damn it, so close to pi)
- Weighted GPA: 3.97
- 74th percentile in school

- 5 AP Calc BC
- 5 AP Calc AB
- 5 AP Lang
- 5 AP Physics C: E&M (self-study; school didn't have this class)
- 5 AP Physics C: Mechanics
- 4 AP Computer Science
- 4 AP Lit
- 4 AP Physics 1
- 4 AP US History
- 4 AP World History
- 3 AP US Government (retaking 2018)
- 3 AP Macroeconomics (retaking 2018)
- Taking AP statistics test 2018 probably

Course load:
- Freshman: Eng Hon, Algebra 2, Chorus, ROTC, Bio Hon, World Hist, Electronics