Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Colleges for a slightly unusual situation?

MostlyWellMostlyWell Registered User Posts: 35 Junior Member
I know that I'm a good student, but my high school is intense. I'm in the top 10% of my class, but just barely. I don't hold a candle to my school's top students, and I'm worried about applying to selective colleges because of it. Colleges always talk about how you compare to others at your high school. I'm not looking for safeties because I automatically get into Indiana's honors program with my ACT score. I'm a junior from Illinois. I'm going to major in biology and then get a master's in genetics/genetic counseling.

Safety: Indiana University
Other schools: Emory, Michigan (Ann Arbor), and Washu (slim chances). I'd like schools that are similar to these.

Academics: 32 ACT, 4.0 unweighted GPA, currently two AP's and the rest of my classes are accel. I'm in two science classes this year and plan to do more next year. I'm only doing three years of world language (Latin). I'm the house manager for my school's theater program, but I don't want to do any theater in college.

I want:
-larger schools with a reasonably even male/female ratio
-a school known for biology
-healthy/low calories food available (doesn't have to be good)
-dorms that don't have rats, lice, and termites everywhere
-good professors

I don't want:
--schools focused on greek life or extreme party schools
-schools overseas
-a "cut-throat" environment
-gigantic class sizes
-overly conservative schools